My father’s favourite child

My boyfriend is a programmer. Did you know that if you call a programmer a computer scientist, he will sulk at  you? That is true, they really do that! And every time I have a problem with my computer, he says: “I don’t know anything about computers, I’m a programmer, not a computer scientist”. And all I hear is “blah blah blah, I won’t help you, blah blah blah”.

Recently, we visited my parents. My father had a problem with his computer (for us it was just broken, for him it was the end of his world). He asked my SO if he could help him and I was just waiting for his famous “blah, blah, blah…” but he didn’t say that. Instead he said “sure” and started to look for a problem. What a toady!

That day we were planning to visit also his grandparents so when they started to repair the computer, I was just sitting there and waiting. After two hours, I was still waiting. My mum asked me:

  • Do you want some tea?
  • No, thanks. In a minute we will go to his grandparents and I will drink it there.

My mum finished her delicious tea and we were still there. Their mission became real. The computer was officially broken and my boyfriend didn’t want to leave until it worked again. I started to regret that I hadn’t drunk that tea. My mum told my boyfriend to leave it:

  • It’s just a computer! Go! Visit your grandparents!

But it was too late. I really mean it. They were sitting and repairing it for so long that finally it was too late to go and visit grandparents! They were already sleeping! I finally made myself some tea and started to think about this hole day I just wasted.

Suddenly, my mum wanting to free my boyfriend from my dad said:

  • Tomorrow at work I will call this man who always takes care of our computers.

Silence. She dared to mention other man. Now it wasn’t about the computer anymore but about his honour. After 5 minutes everything was ready and the computer was repaired.

  • What? Why didn’t you do that earlier?! – I screamed.

 

May I also say that from that moment my father’s favourite child is my boyfriend? Should I be happy or sad?

Znalezione obrazy dla zapytania computer gif simpson

Leave a comment