My unique birthday gift

This morning I was looking at the mirror and something came to my mind. Let me tell you a story about one necklace.

My birthday is in November. One year ago, I decided to buy myself a gold necklace. All of my jewellery was gold except for necklaces, so I wanted to match it with all the rest. My searching started and a week later I knew exactly which one I would have loved to have.

In September, my boyfriend and I were coming back home and on the train the girl who was sitting in front of us grabbed my attention.

  • Babe – I said – look at her necklace. That’s the one I want to have.
  • Ok, it’s pretty.

So, the journey lasted for about 3 hours and the girl was sitting there during all this time. I had enough or even too much time to feast my eye and confirm that it’s a good choice and it looks really elegantly. After that I started to put aside some money because I wanted to buy it even more.

We came back home that early because it was the only time we could do it. We went to the shopping mall. It was my present from my parents for my birthday: shopping – brilliant! Me, my mother and my sister went to buy some clothes and my dad with my boyfriend went to see something more interesting like games, phones or everything except women’s clothes? It was such a great time.

November arrived and I was getting older again. On my birthday, my boyfriend woke me up really early because he had to go to work and he wanted to give me a gift. I was sleepy and then I noticed a package from the jeweller. I suddenly forgot that I was tired and opened the box. Inside there was a necklace. Before I even had a chance to react I heard:

  • If you don’t like it, that’s ok! You see, when we were in the shopping mall I went with your dad to pick this necklace for you, I remembered the one you loved so much on the train and I was trying to find something like that. We had some options but with your dad we chose this one but if you don’t like it just tell me, we can exchange it. But you have to tell me now because we have only 2 weeks.

OMG! That’s too much information! That’s what happened:

I opened the box. The necklace was pretty but it was nothing like the one we saw on the train. Really, it wasn’t similar at all. But it was pretty so my first reaction was happiness, then I heard the whole story about my boyfriend getting along with my father and I felt really moved but suddenly he started to talk about exchanging it and I felt under so much pressure. I couldn’t tell him that it’s not the one I wanted because he would have given it back to the jeweller! I looked and him shocked and I said:

  • It’s beautiful! I like it, I won’t give it back!
  • Really?
  • Really! It’s mine, I love it.

So he went to work really happy and I stayed at home. Awaken. At 7 a.m. on my day off. I couldn’t go back to sleep after all of these emotions so I went to the nearest mirror and started to understand why men never notice when you cut your hair. I mean, for him these two necklaces were the same and I couldn’t find out why he thought so. Well, I wouldn’t pick the necklace I received on my own, it wasn’t really my style. I saved almost enough money to buy myself the one from my dreams but now I couldn’t do it either because it would hurt his feelings. I said goodbye to the necklace of my dreams and started to get used to the new one. There was something that was making me feel strange, I guess it was the pressure. Because all of that I couldn’t decide objectively whether I liked it or not.

I figured that out today. I don’t really like it. But at the same time I love it. I love that I received it from my SO, I love the fact that he remembered the one that I found pretty and he was trying so hard to find it (the result is not important now, he was trying), I also love the fact that he got along with my dad and spent so much time with him in this mall (you can imagine, 3 women in the shopping mall – hours). I don’t like the design, it’s not really my style but to be honest, after one year of wearing it I got attached to it. I wouldn’t give it away even if someone would give me the most beautiful necklace in the whole world. Mine is just better.

Podobny obraz

Leave a comment