Wings for Life, again

Maybe some of you remember that last year I was preparing for Wings for Life, a charity run. If you want to participate in this run you have to pay. All of the raised money is given to Wings for Life foundation whose goal is to find a cure for spinal cord injuries and paraplegia. So the motto of the race is: “Running for those who can’t”. I know, that sounds beautiful BUT the number of participants is limited so if you really want to be a part of  it, you have to register on time. In Poznań, there are 8000 tickets to buy.

Last year, I received the participation ticket for Valentine’s Day (how romantic, lucky me). I’m just joking, it was way better than a bouquet of flowers, which I would throw away after a week. Important is that last year my boyfriend got us the tickets in February. This year, the registration started in November (two days ago). I wouldn’t be writing about it, if not the fact that a lot of people started to be interested about that. After one day, I realised that half of the tickets are already bought. At first, I thought it was normal but I didn’t want to risk so we bought ourselves two tickets. That was a smart move! After 48 hours the tickets are sold out! That is incredible!

I’m feeling a little bit guilty that I will run (last time I run at Wings for Life, so you can imagine my condition…) and a lot of people who really want to run and who are well-prepared can’t participate. Some of them have been waiting for a whole year for this run and they just can’t be a part of it. But, as my favourite runner ever once said: “Sh*t happens”.

Leave a comment