Weird family, part 1

Christmas is about spending time with family. But, what you don’t know is that my family is weird. I really mean it. My family is really really weird. I even have a proof. Here you have the most recent example.

My grandmother had lived in Italy for 20 years, so we didn’t see each other very often. Recently, she moved back to Poland. My mother (her daughter) wanted to visit her so I decided that it was a good moment to introduce my boyfriend. After meeting my other grandmother he was very happy about that idea (no he wasn’t, but I will tell you that story another time).  We arrived. It was Christmas Eve. My grandmother opened the door to her apartment.

  • Hi! Merry Christmas! This is my boyfriend.

As distinct from my other grandma, she was very kind, she introduced herself and gave us something to drink and to eat. We started to talk and everything was going well.

  • Hmmm, that’s something new – I thought – why am I having this impression that the visit is normal? My family isn’t normal, what is happening?

And that’s when it happened. My grandma looked at me and told me that she had a gift for me. That would have been completely normal, it was Christmas Eve, people were making gifts! But it wasn’t normal. My grandma didn’t know that I would be there, she invited only my mum, me and my boyfriend were a surprise. I looked at her uncertainly. Was she really talking to me? The answer was yes, she was. We went to the kitchen and then she said:

  • Look, I bought you this wedding gift.

I thought it was a joke so I started to laugh. But it wasn’t a joke. In front of us, there was a huge meat broiler. I didn’t know what was more ridiculous: the fact that I received my first wedding gift (no, I’m not engaged), the fact that it was the meat broiler and that it was already there in front of my face or the size of it (it’s bigger than my kitchen).

  • I don’t know what to say. Thank you grandma…

I really didn’t know what to say. After that I thought that my boyfriend would be terrified, would run away from the wedding, wedding gifts and the rest of these commitments. I even started to think where would I find a new one and why my grandma did that to me? Does she hate me?

It turned out that while I was looking for a new boyfriend, he was looking for a ring online. He really wants that meat broiler. I don’t know why, he doesn’t even cook meat. Now I’m considering the whole run away option.

Znalezione obrazy dla zapytania homer wife gif

To be continued…

Leave a comment